Proudly Protecting the Communities of Aurora and Newmarket


Joint Council Committee

​​​CYFS serves the Towns of Aurora and Newmarket and operates under the direction of a six-member Joint Council Committee made up of three members from each of the Town Councils. The Joint Council Committee provides and administers a borderless, single tier of fire protection and prevention services throughout both towns in accordance with the Consolidated Fire Services Agreement and the Fire Protection and Prevention Act.

The Town of Aurora and the Town of Newmarket consolidated their two fire departments in January of 2002. The consolidation was a very successful collaboration by the two Towns, management of the fire departments and the two labour representatives - the Aurora Professional Firefighters Association and the Newmarket Professional Firefighters Association.

As a consequence of this forward thinking decision to consolidate the fire services resources available, the two Towns have benefited from a professional fire service that is equipped and trained to provide a comprehensive range of emergency services. Central York Fire Services ranks in size among the top twenty fulltime fire services in Ontario.

The Town of Aurora and the Town of Newmarket are protected by a fire service that is able to respond effectively, professionally and competently to a wide range of emergencies and hazards and to provide comprehensive public safety education programs, fire safety inspections and investigations of fire incidents.



Minutes & Agendas